BREADalert: 6.1.15 | Roasted Red Pepper & Garlic Sourdough

Loaves Available: 4

LoafDrop Opportunities:

5:30 PM – 6:30 PM: 15 minute biking radius from Alamo Square

Ingredients: King Arthur Bread Flour, King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour, roasted red peppers, roasted garlic

Leavener: Chef Mark’s Sourdough Starter

New or Different Techniques Applied: Steaming with squirt bottle, higher hydration of dough, overnight room temperature proofing

IMG_20150531_130904324

IMG_20150531_154618512_HDR

IMG_20150601_100408117

2 thoughts on “BREADalert: 6.1.15 | Roasted Red Pepper & Garlic Sourdough

  1. I thought it was delicious. I had it with my eggs. The consistency was just right and I liked the garlic flavor. The little bit of spice was also a pleasant surprise.

    Like

  2. I ate the bread on Tuesday late morning and afternoon (1 day after it was baked). I sliced it up raw (untoasted) and ate with olive oil. Here are some thoughts:

    –Crust: This bread had a very soft crust. I happen to like soft crusts, and I think they’re preferable for sandwich breads (which I’d use this for), but I feel like a lot of fancy breads are more “crusty,” which also gives them a nice crunch. So if harder crusts are not yet in your repertoire, I think that’s one place worth experimenting.
    –Mix-ins: I liked the combo of red pepper and garlic and thought they worked well in the whole wheat sourdough. I would have preferred larger pieces of mix-ins though. At the finely chopped size, I found the flavors to be a little too subtle (especially the red pepper part), and it lacked the excitement of “ooh I got a big chunk of ____!” which is one of my fav parts of bread with stuff in it.
    –Grain structure/texture/porousness: I thought this was spot on. I really liked the mouthfeel and lightness/density of the bread.
    –Appearance: it was beautiful! The slit markings were especially nice. I think larger mix-in pieces, with some poking out the top of the bread, as well as a crunchier/cracklier crust could have both added nice qualities to the appearance, though I really thought it looked nice as it was, so they would just be a different look.
    –Metaphors: I’d say this bread is a good friend from high school who feels familiar even when you’ve been apart for a long time, yet who is special and unique in quiet ways that you’re reminded of whenever you’re together.
    –Whether or not I’m gluten intolerant: still unclear. And now I’ve eaten a LOT of this bread, cause it’s real good.

    Thanks!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

